Exposed Skin Care Review

Key Benefits:

  • A focus on natural ingredients

  • Less irritation than other products

  • Higher quality formulations, better ingredients

  • 🐇 Cruelty-Free 🐇

  • Ideal for both teens and adults

  • One-year, risk free guarantee

  • Made in the US with quality ingredients

  • Very safe and gentle formula

  • Affordable

  • Controls whiteheads and blackheads while you sleep

  • Prevents future breakouts

Exposed Skin Care Product image
dollar symbol
Price (60-day supply)
$59.95
guarantee icon
Guarantee
365 days
amazon icon
Amazon Rating (Updated 9/10/2019)
4.0 1,663 reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating (Updated 9/10/2019)
4.5 929 reviews
Survey

98% of users saw clear skin in less than 30 days.

Based on an email survey of 200 randomly picked Exposed customers. Results may vary depending on skin type.

What Can The Best Of Science + Nature Do for Your Skin?

Exposed has been selling premium acne treatment products since 2001. Their philosophy is acne treatment that effectively clears up acne and blemishes but is still gentle on your skin, by using the best Scientific Ingredients (with the critical combination of Benzoyl Peroxide + Sal. Acid) with powerful Natural Extracts. Though they sell a range of products, the primary kit is a good starting point and includes two serums, a face wash and toner. If you have dryer skin the Expanded kit offers a light-weight, oil free moisture, but for this breakdown we focused on the core essentials of the Basic kit.

How it Works: 4 Ways to Clear Skin

AHA/BHA/Tea Tree

AHA/BHA/Tea Tree opens blocked pores

curved arrow
before after arrow
Natural Extracts

Natural extracts reduce inflammation & redness

curved arrow
before after arrow
Powerful Combination

Powerful combination of salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, and other acne-fighting ingredients kill and prevent acne bacteria

curved arrow
before after arrow
Herbal Blends

Proprietary herbal blends in each product improve skin complexion and health

curved arrow
before after arrow
Before Treatment Image
before after arrow
After Treatment Image

Exposed Provides a Full Skincare Routine

Our Comments: Exposed Skin Care offers several different acne treatment kits.

In this review, we’ll focus on the Basic Kit because it really contains everything you absolutely need to get clear skin: face wash, toner, and two treatment serums. The Expanded kit adds an oil-free moistener and the Ultimate also includes a mask, scrub and a daily probiotic supplement.

Whichever kit you choose All Exposed acne treatment kits include the vital Combination of Benzoyl Peroxide & Salicylic Acid. Very few systems contain this combination. It is essential that you use product with Salicylic Acid first as it opens your pores and allows the Benzoyl Peroxide to penetrate into the pores. Alone it will not be able to reach much of the acne bacteria trapped deeper in the skin – and healing pimples will be out of reach. Green Tea, Natural Dicarboxylic Acid, and Tea Tree with other botanicals are also good to see in the basic treatment.

Exposed Skin Care products combine scientific and natural ingredients to make the gentlest, most effective acne treatment possible.

Exposed products are a little more expensive than some low-cost acne brands, but we think these are an overall good value, particularly in the discounted kits that will last you about 2 months. High-end cosmetic brands that just contain similar natural ingredients alone will often cost far more, and those do not treat acne or at least not well. For these reasons we can recommend this product for most acne sufferers looking for a high quality, multi-active Over-The-Counter treatment. See some user reviews below.

Users will report that while Exposed is more gentile it still packs a punch to fight acne without drying out your skin, in fact, besides seeing less pimples and breakouts, most customer reviews mention that their skin tone and appearance has improved since using Exposed. All Exposed products are made in the US & Canada and carries a 1 year refund guarantee your first kit.

A consistent, gentle skincare routine can make all the difference in your acne.

Day & Night? Exposed kits will involve both a morning and nighttime skincare routine.

morning icon Morning Routine

1
Exposed Skin Care Facial Cleanser image

Facial Cleanser

A gentle face wash containing high-quality ingredients to gently exfoliate the skin.

2
Exposed Skin Care Clearing Tonic image

Clearing Tonic

A mild toner to improve skin texture and tone, without drying out the skin.

3
Exposed Skin Care Acne Treatment Serum image

Acne Treatment Serum

A powerful acne-fighting serum that actively kills acne-causing bacteria.

night icon Nighttime Routine

1
Exposed Skin Care Facial Cleanser image

Facial Cleanser

A gentle face wash containing high-quality ingredients to gently exfoliate the skin.

2
Exposed Skin Care Clearing Tonic image

Clearing Tonic

A mild toner to improve skin texture and tone, without drying out the skin.

3
Exposed Skin Care Clear Pore Serum image

Clear Pore Serum

A gentle serum that works all night long to unclog pores and repair damaged skin.

As you can see, the Basic Kit offers two fairly simple skincare routines, but if you have any questions at all, Exposed offers instructional videos and PDFs to help guide you.

A great video if you have 4 minutes: Skincare Expert Sarah Rocksdale walks you through her Morning & Evening routine for clear skin.

“Separate morning & evening routines are worth it. I know their products work.”

Effective, High-Quality Ingredients

The best part about Exposed Skin Care is the ingredients they use and the formulas they create using those ingredients. Exposed only uses the best, most well-researched ingredients, whether they be scientific or natural. Below, we’ve outlined some of the ingredients they feature in several of their products, but for more information on all of their ingredients, you can check out their How It Works page.

salicylic acid icon
Salicylic Acid
Salicylic Acid

Several Exposed products contain this scientific ingredient, including the Facial Cleanser, Clearing Tonic, and Clear Pore Serum. Studies show that salicylic acid helps reduce acne by:

  • Breaking up clogged pores
  • Exfoliating dead skin cells and excess oil
  • Shrinking pores to prevent future buildup
Benzoyl Peroxide

This is one of the most popular scientific acne-fighting ingredients on the market right now, and for good reason. Exposed Skin Care utilizes it in their Acne Treatment Serum. According to the latest research, benzoyl peroxide can reduce acne by:

  • Killing acne-causing bacteria
  • Reducing oil production
  • Killing acne-causing bacteria
  • Reducing oil production
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl Peroxide
green tea extract icon
Green Tea Extract
Green Tea Extract

This natural active is a powerful tool in treating acne gently. Exposed uses it in their Clearing Tonic, Acne Treatment Serum, and Clear Pore Serum. Research shows that green tea extract can help reduce and prevent acne by:

  • Healing and protecting the skin with antioxidants
  • Preventing irritation and inflammation
Tea Tree Oil

Only the Acne Treatment Serum contains tea tree oil, but it is a powerful natural active that provides many benefits to acne-prone skin. Studies confirm that tea tree oil can help reduce acne by:

  • Killing acne-causing bacteria
  • Reducing oil production
  • Preventing and reducing inflammation
  • Killing acne-causing bacteria
  • Reducing oil production
  • Preventing and reducing inflammation
tea tree oil icon
Tea Tree Oil
 

Many users report that acne treatments with a combination of Benzoyl Peroxide and Salicylic acid produce better results for their skin. All Exposed Kits include this combination of actives.

Before and After—Real Results From Real Customers

Tyler before image
30 days
real results arrow
30 days real results arrow

"I started to notice results within my first month of use and to this day I'm noticing more and more changes in my skin."

Tyler R.

Tyler after image

"I started to notice results within my first month of use and to this day I'm noticing more and more changes in my skin."

Tyler R.

Madison before image
60 days
real results arrow
60 days real results arrow

As women our self-esteem and beauty shouldn't come from the exterior, but as confident as one might be, large clusters of acne front and center is truly debilitating.

Madison

Madison after image

As women our self-esteem and beauty shouldn't come from the exterior, but as confident as one might be, large clusters of acne front and center is truly debilitating.

Madison

Emily before image
60 days
real results arrow
60 days real results arrow

My mom came across Exposed Skincare and she purchased me a basic kit. My skin is still a work in progress, but it has never looked and felt so healthy!

Emily

Emily after image

My mom came across Exposed Skincare and she purchased me a basic kit. My skin is still a work in progress, but it has never looked and felt so healthy!

Emily

Okay, so Exposed looks good on paper—but what about real-life results? Fortunately, it has those too. These before and after testimonies demonstrate that Exposed Skin Care does more than talk a big game. All the time and attention they put into their ingredients and formulas really pays off by getting you the clear skin you’ve been seeking.

Reviews Reveal What Customers Really Think of Exposed

Before buying a new skincare product, it’s always a good idea to check out the reviews. Overall, the online reviews for Exposed are absolutely glowing. From adult acne to hormonal acne to all kinds of acne in between, people are seeing positive results from Exposed Skin Care. Check them out for yourself!

Exposed Skincare has completely changed my skin for the better.

Kim McClintock | September 23, 2019

five star rating5.0 out of 5 stars
6-piece Acne Kit verified purchase Verified Purchase
kim mcclintock before
Before
kim mcclintock after
After 6 Weeks

Exposed Skincare has completely changed my skin for the better. I have used so many products over the years and I’ve never seen results like this. Within a week my skin was noticeably more clear to everyone around me. People started asking what I was doing differently and within a few weeks I was getting compliments from strangers. I have had trouble with clear skin for the last 10 years and have felt so discourage and self conscious about it. I knew I was getting married this year so I had to try someone new, as the thought of having blemishes in my photos was devastating. So I truly can’t thank this company enough for giving me perfect skin on my wedding day! For anyone reading this please give Exposed Skincare a shot, you won’t regret it.

I never write these but I felt it was necessary...

Amazon Customer | October 08, 2017

five star rating5.0 out of 5 stars
6-piece Acne Kit verified purchase Verified Purchase
day 1
day 7
day 28

I never write these but I felt it was necessary to... I've struggled w hormonal acne since I had my tubes tied 17 years ago. My progesterone levels were basically at zero. I've always washed and used moisturizer everyday and night. I've used all of the high end products. I started using this and taking the vitamin supplements as well as a natural progesterone and thyroid supplement. I can definitely see an improvement. Every week except last week I have takin pictures so I will let you be the judge.

Amazing improvement.

Michaela Weaver | May 21, 2019

five star rating5.0 out of 5 stars
6-piece Acne Kit verified purchase Verified Purchase
michaela weaver before
Before
michaela weaver after
After

I was struggling with my self-image as a result of my horrible acne. I went to a dermatologist, but nothing that the prescribed worked. I started googling face washes and came across Exposed Skin Care. I thought I would give it a try. After all, I was desperate for anything to work. After only a couple of weeks, I saw amazing improvement. After two months, my face was clear! This face wash really works and I am forever grateful that I came across it!

Finally

Austin T. | July 16, 2018

five star rating5.0 out of 5 stars
5-piece Acne Kit verified purchase Verified Purchase

I've had acne my entire life post puberty and am now 27. (bad luck with genetics) I've gone through multiple different regimens when going through the high school years and tried everything. My acne was always a roller coaster, some days were decent and some were dreadful. But i never had completely clear skin. There always seemed to be something that would come to surface in the morning in one of the many hot spots that I seemed to have and this has continued all the way till now. I decided to try exposed because of the good reviews and looking at the % of the benzyl peroxide and Salicylic acid, it was considerably lower than what you'd find at a store. My skin has always been super sensitive due to the war with acne thus far.

The product comes with instructions, what to expect, and some basic tips and tricks to help you along the way. I tried to make a point of being very consistent and I attribute most of the success to that. None of the products burn or feel like they're irritating my skin. Although the instructions for the toner said to apply with your fingers although it has the consistency of water which just wasn't going to work. I'd recommend just using a cotton ball to apply this. My skin started off still having flare ups but that only lasted around 2 weeks and then the flare ups stopped and only had a whitehead or 2 after that. My face continued to get better and some of the redness started to fade. I couldn't believe it because I've used a lot of different products but this is the first one of my adult life to actually calm my skin. My skin is not completely cleared as i have a decent amount of minor scarring from the past that i don't know if will ever go away. But is been a little over a month and I'm extremely happy with the progress so far. My skin has always been a source of anxiety for me and I'm enjoying the relief after all this time. Highly recommend !

It works!!

JStone | Jan 24, 2018

five star rating5.0 out of 5 stars
6-piece Acne Kit verified purchase Verified Purchase
jstone before
Before
jstone after
After

I absolutely love this product. I don’t get dry skin after usage. I have seen such a major transformation in only a few months. This product completely altered my appearance. I definitely recommend!

Thank you for giving me back my confidence.

A. Berry | Aug 27, 2019

five star rating5.0 out of 5 stars
6-piece Acne Kit verified purchase Verified Purchase
a berry before
Before
a berry after
After

I had been a Proactiv user since high school. I'm 30 now. I had got some good results with them but I was never really satisfied with my results. Few months ago I started breaking out more than I've had in years. I lost my confidence and I would wear hats all the time to hide my breakouts. That is when I decided to try something new.

After reading all the great reviews I purchased my first kit of Exposed. It was rough at first. Those first few weeks I wasnt getting the results I was hoping to get. I was frustrated but I figured that since I had bought the kit I should see it all the way through. I followed all the instructions and tips that came with the kit and I am proud to say I'm glad i stuck with it.

After the first few weeks I've seen nothing but improvements in my skin. I just finished my first kit of Exposed and honestly it's the first time ever that I've felt great about my skin. I've got a lot compliments on my skin now as well.

When is comes to my skincare the only thing I worry about now is whether or not I'll get my shipments of Exposed on time when I'm on deployment because I'm in military. I have complete confidence in the product and most importantly myself. Thank you for giving me back my confidence Exposed.

Thank you for bringing my daughter back to her beautiful and confident self.

Barb P. | May 15, 2017

five star rating5.0 out of 5 stars
6-piece Acne Kit verified purchase Verified Purchase
barb-p

My daughter had acne since she was 14. She was not very confident, her entire dresser would be covered in makeup, just to cover it up. She tried everything and I mean everything. She would try a face wash from the store, wouldn't work, go back get the next brand next to it and so on....still nothing, she had a small cleaning with Proactive, but nothing major. She is now 22 and her face has never been more clear. She is much more confident in herself. She wears less make up! It is such an amazing face wash. Thank you for bringing my daughter back to her beautiful and confident self. Amazing!!!!

In Summary, Exposed Skin Care At a Glance

Exposed Skincare Routine

Exposed®
Basic Kit

  • One-year, risk-free guarantee
  • Made in the US with quality ingredients
  • Very safe and gentle formula
  • Affordable
  • Controls whiteheads and blackheads while you sleep
  • Prevents future breakouts
price icon
Price (60-day supply)
$59.95
guarantee icon
Guarantee
365 days
amazon icon
Amazon Rating (Updated 9/10/2019)
4.0 1,663 reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating (Updated 9/10/2019)
4.5 929 reviews

In general, it’s hard to find something not to like about Exposed Skin Care. This is definitely our top pick as the best acne treatment kit available right now because they really understand how to get rid of acne while still taking good care of the skin. The only potential downside is that it can take a little while to work because it is much gentler with your skin than most other acne treatments, so remember to be patient.

We also appreciate that they have a money-back guarantee that is good for a full year after your purchase. If you give Exposed a try and decide it isn’t for you, you can simply send the products back any time within the first year and get a full refund. But odds are, you won’t need to use this feature because we sincerely doubt you’ll want to send it back.

 

Better than a strong acne medication? The Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology found that Benzoyl Peroxide + Salicylic Acid produced even better results than a leading non-OTC product: so it might be best to look for that combination in the acne treatment you choose.

Acne Treatment Comparison Chart

Discover which acne treatment is best for your skin. Below we compare the most popular, best-selling complete acne treatment systems available on the market today3.

comparison arrow
active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives
& Skin Repairing
Ingredients
Murad Clear Control
Murad®

Clear Control

Visit
Murad
Exposed Basic Kit
Exposed®

Basic Kit

Visit
Exposed
Paula's Choice CLEAR Regular Strength
Paula's Choice

CLEAR Regular Strength

Visit
Paula's Choice
Rodan & Fields Unblemished
Rodan & Fields®

Unblemish

Visit
Rodan & Fields
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts
Proven to Heal
Skin
Murad®

Clear Control

Visit
Murad
Exposed®

Basic Kit

Visit
Exposed
Paula's Choice

CLEAR Regular Strength

Visit
Paula's Choice
Rodan & Fields®

Unblemish

Visit
Rodan & Fields
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
60 days$79.94
365 days$59.95
60 days$48.00
30 days$193.99
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.683 reviews
4.01,663 reviews
3.8219 reviews
3.650 reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.0529 reviews
4.5929 reviews
4.2568 reviews
4.02,756 reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Exposed Basic Kit
Exposed®

Basic Kit

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
365 days$59.95
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.01,663
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.5929
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Murad Clear Control
Murad®

Clear Control

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
60 days$79.94
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.683
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.0529
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Paula's Choice CLEAR Regular Strength
Paula's Choice

CLEAR Regular Strength

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
60 days$48.00
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.8219
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.2568
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Rodan & Fields Unblemished
Rodan & Fields®

Unblemish

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
30 days$193.99
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.650
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.02,756
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating

Find more information and before/after pictures on the Exposed Skincare website.

What the Pros Say: Review Summaries

Basic Kit

Best Overall Acne Treatment   4.5/5

Our Top Recommendation – If you have sensitive skin, this kit is definitely a good option for you. This product has all the key ingredients and more, utilizing both scientific and natural actives to effectively treat and prevent all kinds of acne, from blackheads to pimples. It contains benzoyl peroxide to help treat pimples, salicylic acid, and glycolic acid to treat blackheads and whiteheads, and it contains green tea, aloe vera, and passionflower extract to reduce inflammation and redness.

High-quality ingredients with an ideal combination of active ingredients, this kit has the highest customer ratings on both Amazon and Google Shopping, & comes with a full one-year money-back guarantee.

Although it is still generally very affordable, this kit is slightly more expensive than some of the other kits in this list.

Mild Acne Treatment – (Runner Up)

Clear Control Kit   3.5/5

This kit is designed to treat and prevent very mild acne and works best with normal to oily skin. It contains salicylic acid, which helps open pores and fights blackheads and whiteheads, and sulfur, which helps dry out excess oil. It also contains a few natural ingredients, like passionflower and sage extract, which can both help reduce inflammation.

This acne treatment kit is the most affordable option in this list, making it a great place to start if you are hesitant to invest too much money into your skincare right away.

The products in the Murad kit do not contain ingredients that effectively prevent or treat pimples (pustule or papules), though it is a good solution for treating white/blackheads.

CLEAR Regular Strength

3.0/5

This is a classic acne treatment kit, containing the two most popular ingredients on the market: salicylic acid and benzoyl peroxide. By combining these ingredients, this kit can effectively treat blackheads, whiteheads, and pimples. It is relatively gentle, meaning it’s a great option for dry to normal skin types.

This kit contains only three products and involves a very simple routine, so it’s a great option for those who struggle to stick to new habits.

Surprisingly it does not contain any anti-inflammatory ingredients and isn’t the best for sensitive skin types and can reduce its effectiveness.

Unblemish

Overall Acne Treatment (Runner Up)   4.0/5

This kit is a good option for those who have both oily and sensitive skin. The benzoyl peroxide effectively treats pimples, while the sulfur helps dry out excess oil that can contribute to blackheads and whiteheads. It also includes sage and green tea extract, to help prevent sensitive skin from having an inflammatory reaction to the benzoyl peroxide or sulfur.

This kit is the best one in this list for skin that is both oily and sensitive.

Unfortunately, this particular kit is far more expensive than the other options by nearly $150.