Rodan + Fields Unblemish Regimen Review

The Rodan + Fields Unblemish Regimen is an acne treatment system designed specifically for treating adult acne, and it comes with four powerful products that supposedly treat acne and signs of aging at the same time. But does it really work and why do we prefer Exposed🏆?

Rodan + Fields Unblemish Regimen contains powerful ingredients for fighting acne and preventing the signs of aging.

Rodan + Fields is a skincare company started by dermatologists Katie Rodan and Kathy A. Fields, the same women who created Proactiv. In 2002, they started Rodan + Fields which they then sold in 2003, and reacquired in 2007. Now, the business is a multi-level marketing company where individuals sell various Rodan + Fields products to friends and family through consultations, though the products are also available online through the Rodan + Fields website. Rodan + Fields offers many products and systems, but their Unblemish Regimen is the one we want to focus on in this review because it offers the most comprehensive approach to treating acne specifically. It includes four products: Gentle Exfoliating Acne Wash, Clarifying Toner, Dual Intensive Acne Treatment, and Shine-Free Lotion Broad Spectrum SPF-20.

🙂 Benefits:

One of the biggest strengths of the Rodan + Fields Unblemish Regimen is the wide variety of ingredients. The four Unblemish products utilize some of the best acne-fighting ingredients, including salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, sulfur, and niacinamide. Below are some brief explanations of how these ingredients can help improve your acne-prone skin.

Salicylic acid can help with breaking up clogged pores.

Salicylic acid can:

  • Exfoliate excess oil and dead skin cells
  • Break up clogged pores
  • Shrink pores to prevent future buildup

Benzoyl peroxide can:

  • Kill acne-causing bacteria
  • Reduce oil production

Sulfur can:

  • Absorb excess oil
  • Kill acne-causing bacteria

Niacinamide can:

  • Protect skin from sun damage
  • Reverse effects of hyperpigmentation
  • Reduce inflammation

With all of these powerful ingredients in their products, there’s an excellent chance the Unblemish Regimen can help significantly reduce your acne, whether you struggle with blackheads, whiteheads, pimples, or a combination of all of them.

🙁 Drawbacks:

It might sound like the Rodan + Fields Unblemish Regimen is the perfect acne system, but like all skincare treatments, it comes with a few drawbacks. The biggest problem with this system is the price. Yes, it contains many powerful and effective acne-fighting ingredients, but at $186 for a 60-day supply, that’s over a thousand dollars you’ll be spending on skincare each year. Many people don’t have that kind of wiggle-room in their budget for that expense, so it may be more cost-effective to find other products containing the same ingredients for a lower price.

Unblemish acne system includes a sunscreen.

The other problem with the Unblemish Regimen is the zinc oxide in the Shine-Free Lotion Broad Spectrum SPF-20. It’s wonderful that this acne system includes a sunscreen because it’s vital to protect acne-prone skin from sun damage in order to prevent hyperpigmentation (the dark spots left behind when acne heals). However, zinc oxide is not the best ingredient for skin of color. It has a stubbornly white color that doesn’t rub into the skin very well, and this can cast a purple, green, or ashy hue on skin of color.

Amazon Reviews Reveal Mixed Results

The Unblemish Regimen is also available on Amazon, meaning you have a wealth of information at your fingertips. Amazon reviews reveal real experiences from real customers, so you can get an idea of whether or not the system will work for you before you invest your money in it yourself. Check out a sampling of the mixed reviews available on Amazon:

not satisfied

Fredericka | Jun 14, 2018

one star rating1.0 out of 5 stars
verified purchaseVerified Purchase

A little disappointed on this product it did not seem to help me with my skin as much as I wanted it to especially for the price

Works but you have to be consistent

Rhonda Nemri | Mar 15, 2018

three star rating3.0 out of 5 stars
verified purchaseVerified Purchase

I was very skeptical when I purchased this product. I used to use Proactive a few years back, and I felt it only worked temporarily. When I finally gave in, and started using the R+F product, my skin would get extremely dry and flaky. Sometimes I would use a different moisturizer than the one in the regimen. After a month, my acne did start to fade away. I do have cystic acne, so I was pleased to know I was not getting much like I used to. It did clear my skin completely at one point, and no pimples on my face. The downside of this product is that it is way too expensive, and if you stop using it consistently, you will get your acne back. Everyone’s skin is different, and reacts to products differently. For someone that is skeptical, this product does work, with a few setbacks. (i.e. Cost, and consistency of product).

My complexion looks just as good, maybe even better

Amy | Dec 26, 2016

three star rating3.0 out of 5 stars
verified purchaseVerified Purchase

I have been able to stop using my 2 Rx acne creams and stop taking my oral acne Rx. My complexion looks just as good, maybe even better! I think I am actually spending less money than I was before with all of my Rxs and expensive Murad products. Very pleased. I am 43 years old.

Overall Opinion on Rodan + Fields Unblemish Regimen

In general, this acne system seems to have everything you need to get rid of all kinds of acne, but at a price that many simply can’t afford consistently. The key to good skincare is keeping up with it every single day, and that isn’t possible for everyone at the Rodan + Fields price. If you can swing it, this system seems like an excellent choice for reducing acne and getting clear skin, but the price is enough of a barrier that we hesitate to recommend it as our top choice.

 

Better than a strong acne medication? The Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology found that Benzoyl Peroxide + Salicylic Acid produced even better results than a leading non-OTC product: so it might be best to look for that combination in the acne treatment you choose.

Acne Treatment Comparison Chart

Discover which acne treatment is best for your skin. Below we compare the most popular, best-selling complete acne treatment systems available on the market today3.

comparison arrow
active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives
& Skin Repairing
Ingredients
Murad Clear Control
Murad®

Clear Control

Visit
Murad
Exposed Basic Kit
Exposed®

Basic Kit

Visit
Exposed
Paula's Choice CLEAR Regular Strength
Paula's Choice

CLEAR Regular Strength

Visit
Paula's Choice
Rodan & Fields Unblemished
Rodan & Fields®

Unblemish

Visit
Rodan & Fields
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts
Proven to Heal
Skin
Murad®

Clear Control

Visit
Murad
Exposed®

Basic Kit

Visit
Exposed
Paula's Choice

CLEAR Regular Strength

Visit
Paula's Choice
Rodan & Fields®

Unblemish

Visit
Rodan & Fields
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
60 days$79.94
365 days$59.95
60 days$48.00
30 days$193.99
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.683 reviews
4.01,663 reviews
3.8219 reviews
3.650 reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.0529 reviews
4.5929 reviews
4.2568 reviews
4.02,756 reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Exposed Basic Kit
Exposed®

Basic Kit

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
365 days$59.95
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.01,663
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.5929
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Murad Clear Control
Murad®

Clear Control

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
60 days$79.94
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.683
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.0529
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Paula's Choice CLEAR Regular Strength
Paula's Choice

CLEAR Regular Strength

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
60 days$48.00
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.8219
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.2568
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating
Rodan & Fields Unblemished
Rodan & Fields®

Unblemish

active ingredients icon
Scientific Actives & Skin Repairing Ingredients
benzoyl peroxide icon
Benzoyl PeroxideKills Acne Bacteria
salicylic acid icon
Salicylic AcidUnclogs Pores
glycolic acid icon
Glycolic AcidRenews Skin
sulfur icon
SulfurDries Sebum
azelaic acid icon
Natural Dicarboxylic AcidNormalizes Skin
natural extracts icon
Natural Extracts Proven to Heal Skin
green tea icon
Green TeaKills Acne Bacteria
passion flower icon
Passion FlowerReduces Inflammation
aloe vera icon
Aloe VeraSoothes Irritated Skin
sage extract icon
Sage ExtractFights Free Radicals
goru kola icon
Gotu KolaImproves Skin Healing
value icon
Guarantee and Price(60-day supply)
30 days$193.99
amazon icon
Amazon Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
3.650
reviews
google icon
Google Shopping Rating(Updated 9/10/2019)
4.02,756
reviews
staff rating icon
Staff Rating

Find more information and before/after pictures on the Exposed Skincare website.

What the Pros Say: Review Summaries

Basic Kit

Best Overall Acne Treatment   4.5/5

Our Top Recommendation – If you have sensitive skin, this kit is definitely a good option for you. This product has all the key ingredients and more, utilizing both scientific and natural actives to effectively treat and prevent all kinds of acne, from blackheads to pimples. It contains benzoyl peroxide to help treat pimples, salicylic acid, and glycolic acid to treat blackheads and whiteheads, and it contains green tea, aloe vera, and passionflower extract to reduce inflammation and redness.

High-quality ingredients with an ideal combination of active ingredients, this kit has the highest customer ratings on both Amazon and Google Shopping, & comes with a full one-year money-back guarantee.

Although it is still generally very affordable, this kit is slightly more expensive than some of the other kits in this list.

Mild Acne Treatment – (Runner Up)

Clear Control Kit   3.5/5

This kit is designed to treat and prevent very mild acne and works best with normal to oily skin. It contains salicylic acid, which helps open pores and fights blackheads and whiteheads, and sulfur, which helps dry out excess oil. It also contains a few natural ingredients, like passionflower and sage extract, which can both help reduce inflammation.

This acne treatment kit is the most affordable option in this list, making it a great place to start if you are hesitant to invest too much money into your skincare right away.

The products in the Murad kit do not contain ingredients that effectively prevent or treat pimples (pustule or papules), though it is a good solution for treating white/blackheads.

CLEAR Regular Strength

3.0/5

This is a classic acne treatment kit, containing the two most popular ingredients on the market: salicylic acid and benzoyl peroxide. By combining these ingredients, this kit can effectively treat blackheads, whiteheads, and pimples. It is relatively gentle, meaning it’s a great option for dry to normal skin types.

This kit contains only three products and involves a very simple routine, so it’s a great option for those who struggle to stick to new habits.

Surprisingly it does not contain any anti-inflammatory ingredients and isn’t the best for sensitive skin types and can reduce its effectiveness.

Unblemish

Overall Acne Treatment (Runner Up)   4.0/5

This kit is a good option for those who have both oily and sensitive skin. The benzoyl peroxide effectively treats pimples, while the sulfur helps dry out excess oil that can contribute to blackheads and whiteheads. It also includes sage and green tea extract, to help prevent sensitive skin from having an inflammatory reaction to the benzoyl peroxide or sulfur.

This kit is the best one in this list for skin that is both oily and sensitive.

Unfortunately, this particular kit is far more expensive than the other options by nearly $150.